University Of Kwazulu-Natal Medical School

By | December 19, 2016

University of Kwazulu-Natal logo

University Of Kwazulu-Natal Medical School

University Of Kwazulu-Natal Medical School, The School of Clinical Medicine encompasses all the clinical disciplines with the exception of Family Medicine. The academic staff provide specialist clinical services to the people of KwaZulu-Natal in partnership with the provincial Department of Health, play a key role in the training of health care professionals at both undergraduate and postgraduate level, and undertake basic and applied research in the clinical sciences.

The College of Health Sciences is a multi-professional institution spread across four of the five campuses of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Its excellent scholars function holistically, ethically and in a socially responsive manner within the African health care environment while actively engaging international collaboration and partnerships for education, research and service.
Recognised as a Centre of Excellence in health professional education, research and community programmes, the College provides a unified and holistic approach to teaching at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels across three campuses.
Located in the province of KwaZulu-Natal, the College’s four schools; namely Clinical Medicine, Health Sciences, Laboratory Medicine and Medical Sciences as well as Nursing and Public Health, serve 25 percent of South Africa’s population resident in KwaZulu-Natal.

The College boasts among its staff some of the most eminent and respected names in medical and health sciences and academia. Publications in peer reviewed journals are impressive and continue to grow, so too is the authorship of scientific and health sciences books.


Students wishing to study medicine do not enter the School of Clinical Medicine directly. They complete the first three years of their training in the School of Laboratory Medicine and Medical Sciences, and then transfer to our School at the beginning of the fourth year of study, when their intensive clinical training begins. Enrolment and registration for the MBChB degree are handled by the College of Health Sciences.

Enquiries should be directed to:

Ms Lerato Zincume
Student Academic Services
College of Health Sciences
Tel: +27 (31) 260 4795, +27 (31) 260 4563



•           Postgraduate Diploma in Clinical HIV/AIDS Management

•           Master of Medical Science in Clinical HIV/AIDS Management

•           Master of Medical Science (MMedSc) – Research (all SCM disciplines)

•           Master of Medicine in:

•           Anaesthetics

•           Cardiothoracic Surgery

•           Cardiology

•           Dermatology

•           Medicine

•           Neurology

•           Neurosurgery

•           Obstetrics and Gynaecology

•           Ophthalmology

•           Orthopaedic Surgery

•           Otorhinolaryngology

•           Paediatrics and Child Health

•           Paediatric Surgery

•           Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

•           Psychiatry

•           Radiology

•           Radiotherapy and Oncology

•           Surgery

•           Urology

•           Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)


Contact Details

PA/Secretary to the Dean
Ms Sithembile Khuzwayo
Tel: +27 31 2604216