University of Kwazulu-Natal College of Health Sciences

University of Kwazulu-Natal College of Health Sciences

The College of Health Sciences is a multi-professional institution spread across four of the five campuses of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Its excellent scholars function holistically, ethically and in a socially responsive manner within the African health care environment while actively engaging international collaboration and partnerships for education, research and service.
Recognised as a Centre of Excellence in health professional education, research and community programmes, the College provides a unified and holistic approach to teaching at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels across three campuses.
Located in the province of KwaZulu-Natal, the College’s four schools; namely Clinical Medicine, Health Sciences, Laboratory Medicine and Medical Sciences as well as Nursing and Public Health, serve 25 percent of South Africa’s population resident in KwaZulu-Natal.

The College boasts among its staff some of the most eminent and respected names in medical and health sciences and academia. Publications in peer reviewed journals are impressive and continue to grow, so too is the authorship of scientific and health sciences books.

2019 UNDERGRADUATE BROCHURE

Postgraduate Opportunities in the College

The College of Health Sciences at the University of KwaZulu-Natal invites you to apply for a wide-range of dynamic postgraduate studies at one of the leading universities on the African continent. Respected as one of the top three research universities in South Africa, the College has some of the world’s leading health educators and scientists at the helm. We offer attractive fee remission and Scholarships for aspirant Masters and PhD students.  In addition, cohort supervision workshops and on-going support is provided to assist postgraduate students in advancing in professional careers in the health science sector. In addition Postdoctoral Fellowships are offered across a range of cutting-edge disciplines.

Postgraduate documents

Please Note: If you are calling from an external line, make sure you include the prefix 031260 before dialling the extension, unless stated otherwise.

College of health sciences
Name Title Ext Fax E-Mail Secretary Ext E-Mail
Professor Rob Slotow Deputy Vice-Chancellor 2798 7727 slotow@ukzn.ac.za

 

Mhlophe Sithole 2798 sitholem1@ukzn.ac.za

 

Professor Moses Chimbari College Dean: Research 4833 7727 Chimbari@ukzn.ac.za SambuloNtombela 3841 gombela@ukzn.ac.za
 Mr Clement Matasane  Grant Co-ordinator  4006  matasanec@ukzn.ac.za
COLLEGE PROFESSIONAL SERVICES
Professor Fanie Botha Director 3864 7727 bothasj@ukzn.ac.za Charlene Pillay 3863 pillayc4@ukzn.ac.za
 Shirley Ferguson  Project Officer  4414 fergusos@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Vanitha Nagoor Committee Officer 7633 nagoork@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Patrick Hlombe Manager: Technical Services 4245 hlombeb@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Lerato Zincume K-RITH Conference Facility 4034 zincume@ukzn.ac.za
Human Resources
Ms Nadia Lasich Manager 8201 7727 lasich@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Aubrey Mbona HR Consultant 4450 mbonas@ukzn.ac.za
Mrs Eunice Khuzwayo HR Consultant 4418 khuzwayo@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Stanley Mpembe HR Consultant 7886 mpembet@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Sunitha Mani HR Officer 7169 manis@ukzn.ac.za
 Mr Sipho Mkhize  Site Administrator  7275  mkhizeb5@ukzn.ac.za
FINANCE
Mrs Indrani Reddy Manager 2722 Reddy1@ukzn.ac.za 
Mr Kumaran Thevadasan Research 2697 thevadasank@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Nirashnie Ramouthar Procurement Officer 2223 badrinarian@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Makhosazana Mondlane Financial Coordinator 7943 7727 mondlanem@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Nonto Zungu Assets Officer 2753 zungun1@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Thabani Manci Creditor 2254 mancit@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Babalwa Maziko Financial Operations Officer  8202  mazikob@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Andile Nduuku Accountant
officer
3986 ndukua@ukzn.ac.za 
PUBLIC RELATIONS
Ms MaryAnn Francis Manager 2525 7727 francism@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Nombuso Dlamini Public Relations Officer 4718 dlaminin10@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Lunga Memela  Public Relations Officer  3849  

memelal@ukzn.ac.za

STUDENT SERVICES
Dr Saloschini Pillay Manager 7681 pillaysl@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Kamilla Rawatlal Student Counsellor (Westville) 7581 rawatlalkv@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Suzanne Maryann Stokes Student Counsellor (NRMSM) 4595 stokess@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Wullie Thaver Lifeskills Officer 7867 thaverw@ukzn.ac.za
ACADEMIC SERVICES
Mrs Ranithadevi Ramdeyal Academic Services Manager  4726  

ramdeyalrn@ukzn.ac.za

 

Mr Viren Singh Academic Services Officer 7933 singhvr@ukzn.ac.za  

 

Ms Suvanie Chetty Academic Services Officer 4563 chettys2@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Vanessa Chetty Admissions Officer (Health Sciences) 7950 Chettyv3@ukzn.ac.za

 

Mr Mlungisi Chili Admissions Officer (Nursing) 2206 Chilim1@ukzn.ac.za
Ms Sabathile Magwanyana Admissions Officer (MBChB) 4377 magwanyana@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Francis Khanyile Postgraduate Academic Admin Officer 4938 kanyile@ukzn.ac.za
Mr Pasekha Nkhoesa Funding Officer  4359 nkhoesap@ukzn.ac.za

 

 Jainendra Maharajh  Funding Officer  Maharajhj1@ukzn.ac.za
 Mrs Phindile Ntshangase  Exam Officer  4658  ntshangase@ukzn.ac.za
 Mr Bongumusa Gumbi  Funding Officer  4359  gumbib5@ukzn.ac.za