University of Kwazulu-Natal College of Health Sciences

By | April 15, 2016

University of Kwazulu-Natal College of Health Sciences

The College of Health Sciences is a multi-professional institution spread across four of the five campuses of the University of KwaZulu-Natal. Its excellent scholars function holistically, ethically and in a socially responsive manner within the African health care environment while actively engaging international collaboration and partnerships for education, research and service.
Recognised as a Centre of Excellence in health professional education, research and community programmes, the College provides a unified and holistic approach to teaching at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels across three campuses.
Located in the province of KwaZulu-Natal, the College’s four schools; namely Clinical Medicine, Health Sciences, Laboratory Medicine and Medical Sciences as well as Nursing and Public Health, serve 25 percent of South Africa’s population resident in KwaZulu-Natal.

The College boasts among its staff some of the most eminent and respected names in medical and health sciences and academia. Publications in peer reviewed journals are impressive and continue to grow, so too is the authorship of scientific and health sciences books.


Postgraduate Opportunities in the College

The College of Health Sciences at the University of KwaZulu-Natal invites you to apply for a wide-range of dynamic postgraduate studies at one of the leading universities on the African continent. Respected as one of the top three research universities in South Africa, the College has some of the world’s leading health educators and scientists at the helm. We offer attractive fee remission and Scholarships for aspirant Masters and PhD students.  In addition, cohort supervision workshops and on-going support is provided to assist postgraduate students in advancing in professional careers in the health science sector. In addition Postdoctoral Fellowships are offered across a range of cutting-edge disciplines.

Postgraduate documents

Please Note: If you are calling from an external line, make sure you include the prefix 031260 before dialling the extension, unless stated otherwise.

College of health sciences
Name Title Ext Fax E-Mail Secretary Ext E-Mail
Professor Rob Slotow Deputy Vice-Chancellor 2798 7727


Mhlophe Sithole 2798


Professor Moses Chimbari College Dean: Research 4833 7727 SambuloNtombela 3841
 Mr Clement Matasane  Grant Co-ordinator  4006
Professor Fanie Botha Director 3864 7727 Charlene Pillay 3863
 Shirley Ferguson  Project Officer  4414
Ms Vanitha Nagoor Committee Officer 7633
Mr Patrick Hlombe Manager: Technical Services 4245
Ms Lerato Zincume K-RITH Conference Facility 4034
Human Resources
Ms Nadia Lasich Manager 8201 7727
Mr Aubrey Mbona HR Consultant 4450
Mrs Eunice Khuzwayo HR Consultant 4418
Mr Stanley Mpembe HR Consultant 7886
Ms Sunitha Mani HR Officer 7169
 Mr Sipho Mkhize  Site Administrator  7275
Mrs Indrani Reddy Manager 2722 
Mr Kumaran Thevadasan Research 2697
Ms Nirashnie Ramouthar Procurement Officer 2223
Ms Makhosazana Mondlane Financial Coordinator 7943 7727
Ms Nonto Zungu Assets Officer 2753
Mr Thabani Manci Creditor 2254
Ms Babalwa Maziko Financial Operations Officer  8202
Mr Andile Nduuku Accountant
Ms MaryAnn Francis Manager 2525 7727
Ms Nombuso Dlamini Public Relations Officer 4718
Mr Lunga Memela  Public Relations Officer  3849

Dr Saloschini Pillay Manager 7681
Ms Kamilla Rawatlal Student Counsellor (Westville) 7581
Ms Suzanne Maryann Stokes Student Counsellor (NRMSM) 4595
Ms Wullie Thaver Lifeskills Officer 7867
Mrs Ranithadevi Ramdeyal Academic Services Manager  4726


Mr Viren Singh Academic Services Officer 7933  


Ms Suvanie Chetty Academic Services Officer 4563
Ms Vanessa Chetty Admissions Officer (Health Sciences) 7950


Mr Mlungisi Chili Admissions Officer (Nursing) 2206
Ms Sabathile Magwanyana Admissions Officer (MBChB) 4377
Mr Francis Khanyile Postgraduate Academic Admin Officer 4938
Mr Pasekha Nkhoesa Funding Officer  4359


 Jainendra Maharajh  Funding Officer
 Mrs Phindile Ntshangase  Exam Officer  4658
 Mr Bongumusa Gumbi  Funding Officer  4359